The Early Years Foundation Stage

  • A central part of the ten year childcare strategy
  • Has a play-based approach
  • Focuses on stages of development rather than chronological, age based teaching and learning

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help children achieve the Every Child Matters five outcomes, it aims to do this by:

  1. Setting standards
  2. Promoting Equality of opportunity
  3. Creating a framework for partnership working
  4. Improving quality and consistency
  5. Laying a secure foundation for future learning and development


The EYFS principles are grouped into 4 themes

1. A unique child.

Principle – Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

2. Positive Relationships

Principle – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person

3. Enabling Environments

Principle – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning

4. Learning and Development

Principle – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.

Areas of Learning and Development

The EYFS is made up of 7 areas of learning and development

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional development (PSED)
  2. Communication, Language and Literacy (CLL)
  3. Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy (PSRN)
  4. Knowledge and Understanding of the World (KUW)
  5. Physical development (PD)
  6. Creative development (CD)

These areas are equally important, connected and underpinned by the Principles of the EYFS.

The Key Person

Each child in a group setting must be assigned a Key Person

A record of the names of each child’s key person must be kept

A key person has special responsibilities for working with a small number of children, giving them reassurance to feel safe and cared for and building relationships with their parents/ carers.